Break Me Off A Piece Of That…

…stethoscope!

Okay, that’s definitely not how the song goes.
[Note: There’s an episode of The Office where Andy can’t remember what is the last word of the song. He spent the entire episode trying different things including applesauce, Chrysler car, and football cream.]

Anyways, I go back to clinical tomorrow. This semester is going to be insane with us rotating locations every two weeks. First up for me? Postpartum.

I haven’t been to clinical since the end of the November meaning I need to pack my pockets.

Teal stethoscope
Alcohol wipes
Multi-color pen
Bandage scissors
iphone (complete with calculator and apps)
pocket notebook
clipboard (super handy through one of the clubs that has references and values all over it)

Am I missing anything? What is an absolute must when you go to clinicals??

I am super excited to be back into the hands on care. I’ll be up bright and early at 0650. I’m definitely NOT a morning person.
Love,
Laney

    • Amber
    • January 26th, 2010

    Awwww…. starbucks for you! Love the new blog look. Far more sleek. Good luck tomorrow. Love you heaps!

  1. 0650… ha Must be nice! :). My Maternity clinic is on Saturdays for 10 weeks and we have to be there by 6:30AM… Good luck with these weeks of clinical…. you forgot something on your list…. pen light.
    –Wilomis

    • studentrntiffany
    • January 26th, 2010

    The thing that I find the most useful is one of the multicolored ink pens. I love them! I always have atleast two of them in my pocket. Also a standard black crappy pen to offer your RN or MD when they cannot find one and are wanting to borrow yours. HINT: DO NOT GIVE AWAY YOUR GOOD PENS!!

    Have a great day!

  2. Hi, I’m a new student-nurse blogger — enjoying your blog! What do you use the multi-colored pens for? The one thing I’m putting in my pocket during clinicals from now on is lotion and lip balm — hospitals just dry me up! And pediatric vital signs normals for peds rotation. 🙂

    • When I get my history, I put allergies and abnormal lab values in red.
      I sometimes put actions I need to remember in blue. For example when I was on the post-op ortho floor, I put things like polar ice or CPM machine in blue.

      Lotion/lip balm are definitely needed in the hospitals. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

