Tick Tock

One of the questions I was asked was “How many hours a day are you supposed to study in nursing school?”

Well, that all depends. It’s a lot. A LOT.
For me, it’s hard because I never had to study for school growing up. And now, there are hundreds of pages a week that need to be read.

On the first day of school, we were told that for every hour of class, we should spend three hours at home studying. Which is totally illogical. If I had a 9-1 lecture, then that means I should go home and study straight until 1am. Nevermind eating and sleeping!! There are simply not enough hours in the day.
Granted, I don’t have lecture every single day. But still, I also have to work. And that cuts down your time in half. I suppose everyone’s different too, depending on how fast you read, what methods of study you use… etc.

I’ll take a rough estimate and say between 20-30 hours a week? That’s hard. I may have to time it this week and see where I’m really at.

How about you guys? How long do you spend studying? Or, if you’ve already graduated, how long did you spend studying? Soon-to-be nursing students…any ideas on how you’ll block out chunks of study time?

Burning questions needing answers!!

Love,
Laney

  1. Hi, Laney… Nice to meet you! When I was in nursing school, they tried to tell us how much to study. As it turns out, it just all depends on you and how fast you grasp the material. There were some topics that I was sponge-like – y’know super absorbant. Other topics, I wished I could just open my head up and pour in the info. For me, it was all about spending as much time as needed according to my ability to learn a subject. Also, I had to be aware of when I was hitting a wall. When the material absorption rate starts going down, it’s time to take a break. 🙂

    Hope that helps…

    Take care,

    Marjorie

    • It does help! It’s always great to see how other people interpret things…even something as simple as study habits.
      =]

  2. I agree, it’s a lot. I’m even studying when I don’t think I’m studying… like while looking up a patient’s patho, meds, treatments, etc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

