“See you next week”

In the PICU this weekend for another round.
Just heard a mother say ‘bye’ to her child in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. She followed it up with a “see you next week!” She then told me bye and that she would see me next week as well.

Later on, he turned on the TV blasting Black Eyed Peas and then Kanye West. He also said “ass” and “bitch”.

He’s four.

But he is really adorable. SO adorable. I could just put him in my pocket and take him home. He’s waiting for a new heart. I hope he gets one soon. I think he’s starting to lose some of that fighting willpower.

It might be better if he had some family to stay with him for more than a couple of hours every now and then for a little moral support.

I dunno, that’s just me.

  1. How heartbreaking! : (

    Your writing is concise and powerfull.

    Nice job and great blog.

  2. Wow. Poor kid.

    • M’Lynn
    • August 25th, 2009

    I’m going to go wake up my four year old and hug her RIGHT NOW.

  3. Wow. I’ve got a 4-year-old. Can’t imagine her using that kind of language, but I especially can’t imagine leaving her in PICU for a WEEK on her own.

    I’ve been wracking my mind trying to come up with a reasonable explanation. I suppose it’s possible she doesn’t live locally and has to work to keep the insurance that will pay for the transplant and his hospital bill?? But you’d think there’d be someone in the extended family who could come spend time with him …

    Poor kid.

  1. August 19th, 2009
  2. August 24th, 2009

Leave a Reply

