New Skills?

Okay, so I just looked at my overview for skills lab tomorrow and I feel a little bit tense. We’re on the section for mobility, safety, and hygiene. I’m all about safety so that’s easy. Even mobility…sure, help you get up, get down, roll over.
Hygiene… this is the difficult bit. Not that hygiene in and of itself is difficult, but in skills lab, we have to practice on each other. I know there are some people who feel more comfortable practicing this on classmates first, but for me, it’s more awkward. I’m not sure how I feel about brushing the teeth of someone who sits in front of me that I dont know to well. Or washig their arms and legs.

Oh, yes. We’re washing arms, legs, brushing and flossing teeth, providing masages, learning how to put on diapers….

For me, it would be different if it were someone I didn’t know at all and who wasn’t able. Yeah, let me step right in! Classmate? Not so much. Not to mention they’ll be brushing my teeth? Oh no.

Well, not oh no come tomorrow. Ugh.

On another note, Katherine let me watch her kid on ECMO. Fascinating. And, my friend Daniel let me listen to his pt who has a heart murmur. Wow! Never heard that before. It’s like a whooshing sound.

Bah. I feel so behind. I missed one and a half lectures. ajkdhsfklhsfhsflsfj.
Freaking. Out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

