That man collapsed!

I was in Target yesterday, doing my grocery shopping after catching my husband on his lunch break. That’s when I heard the scream and the thump of a body falling to the floor.
Everyone on the end caps began walkign faster, looking into the aisles trying to find out where the sound came from.
A well dressed man took one look inside the aisle and took off running to get help. I raced inside the aisle past a few onlookers who hardly budged to the side.

At first glance, it looked like he was having a heart attack. His brow was sweaty and his eyes closed, hand clutched over his chest.

My adrenaline started rushing as I started running through the list of things to initiate CPR if need be.

But then, I realized the wife was too calm for it to be a heart attack. Now, my mom taught me that you have to be able to assess your patient in thirty seconds or less. I took a head to toe sweep and noticed his eyes were opening and his leg was bent weird. He was breathing fast and steady and his coloring was fine.

After looking at his wife and asking if he collapsed or his knee gave out, I was told that his leg only gave out. The man propped himself up on his elbows and proceeded to tell me that he had a torn ligament and that this happened often. I asked if he could bend it, which he could.

I called Isaac, who was working, so that he coul;d do whatever paperwork he would have to.

While I am relieved I didn’t have to use my new CPR skills just yet, I realized I am so ready for nursing school. I can totally handle this.

It starts tomorrow.

    • BurntMaze
    • January 5th, 2009

    Good luck today πŸ™‚

  1. Thanks so much!
    πŸ˜€

  2. Im laughing so hard I can’t stand it…. CPR huh for a collapse. Good job sweetie knowing the difference! Im sure you’ll make a better medical professional than many I have seen!

    I couldn’t believe it a couple of years back when I was in an airport and a girl had a seizure and none of the airline staff were trained on what to do. I just took over and gave them the “look”. Geezzz… the poor girl. What do they teach these people? Security had no clue either. Hey, silver lining, girl was fine… and I got upgraded to first class as thanks from the airline. Bad thing was I had to sit with the girl through the entire trip. And she was dumb as a post and wanted to talk my ear off.

    See my child, no good deed goes unpunished. You heard it here from your Auntie first….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

