Recipe of the Day

A lot of you can relate to me on this I think. I know when Isaac and I got married in February and moved in together, one of my first thoughts was “Oh crap, cooking!”
We both work full-time, go to school 2 days a week for 4 hours plus manage homework and studying time for these accelerated courses, and try to spend as much time together as possible. So where do I have the time to fit in cooking and cleaning? Growing up with a single mom, I can see how this is a struggle for a lot of people.

I decided that as I find new methods to make the work easier as well as quick-fix recipes, I’ll post them up here for you all to enjoy! I know for some of you, this will all be common sense, but I know others are playing the learning game like I am. Hopefully some of these ideas will help you as much as they help me.

Meat Sauce and Rice

This meal was super quick to make and delicious to boot. It makes for a great lunch or a late night dinner where you want something healthy, filling, and not too heavy. This meal fits all three criteria. Isaac and I had it for dinner last night for the first time and it was a hit!

What You Need:
2 lb. Ground Turkey (or any ground meat of your choosing)
1/2 onion
Tomato sauce
basil
thyme
garlic
OR substitute the tomato sauce/spices with regular spaghetti sauce

Before you start makign the meat sauce, put on a pot of rice (or pasta).
You take a skillet and set the stove to medium. Spray the bottom of the pan with a cooking spray or some vegetable oil. Put in the ground turkey (or other meat) and let it brown slightly on both sides. After about 4 minutes, add onions to the pan and mix it all together. After another 4 minutes or so, add in the spaghetti sauce. I like to use the mushroom flavored Prego cause my husband is wild about it, but you can use whatever kind you like. Let that heat up and finish cooking all the way through for the next couple of minutes. It shouldn’t take longer than 15 minutes altogether. Really, only 10 minutes if you cook it on medium-high.

When done, serve the bowls with a thich layer of rice and a generous helping of the meat sauce on top. Serve with a freshly tossed salad and perhaps a piece of French Bread. Delicious and quick! It’s visually appealing as well!

(Next time I make the meal, I’ll add a picture to this post.)

In the 10 minute gap between the meat sauce finishing and the rice needing to end, its easy to wipe up the counters, wash up any dishes, get your dishes ready for serving, and set the table.
It’ll make cleaning the pot and pan and dinner dishes much easier after the meal.
Enjoy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

