Like a Virgin

I’m back!! I had a wonderful birthday spent with cake and cookies and learning how to ice skate. Now I’m back to the wear and tear of work and school. Speaking of which, I just learned how to draw and label an axial skeleton.

Without further ado, my topic for the day: Like A Virgin.

What is the emphasis that we place on virginity nowadays? It’s so very important to consider who we give ourselves to and when and how. I personally was very careful with that even before I got married. In my head, even kissing someone is giving that person a part of yourself- never mind everything that comes after that.

I have a friend who’s cousin got pregnant at 12. That cousin is 24 now. I’m only 5 years away from being 24 and I have to say, I could not imagine being that age and having a kid who is literally half my age and in middle school. That truly boggles my mind.

At the VMA’s (Video Music Awards) this year, several young artists were teased for wearing purity rings…and most of them were only 15!! That is the opposite of wrong to be 15 and a virgin. Probably TMI and too personal, but I didn’t lose mine until I was seventeen. And I’m only stating that to prove my point that it’s okay to be a senior in high school and a virgin. I have a classmate who is 23 and still waiting for marriage. Kudos to her, I say!

And of course, there’s nothing wrong with passing out your V card early as long as it is to the right person and for the right reasons. I honestly think it is something you will regret to a degree if it isn’t done in the right way.

So, you might be thinking this is all valid (or not?) and nice and all…but how did I get on this topic? Some of you may have already heard about this, but I haven’t had a chance to write about it until today.

A 23 year old girl going by the pseudonym of Natalie Dylan, is selling her virginity to pay for college. She tried to auction it off on e-bay but they withdrew her auction. So she went on the Howard Stern show (talk show host now on Sirius satellite radio) and is now selling her V card to the highest bidder! Now, don’t be mistaken- she’s not just selling it to any old guy…she wants someone with chemistry.  So they’ll continue to accept offers until she finds someone she’s satisfied with.

How did this come about? Apparently, her father took out student loans in both her and her sisters names and kept all the money for himself while they were still young. Thus, leaving them with no options for financial aid to pay for school. Her sister took a different path to help pay for school: she poses for the Bunny Ranch.

Dylan supposedly heard a story about a Peruvian woman who did the same thing to pay for her mother’s medical bills and decided to “capitalize on what [I have]”.  She also claims that although people may condemn her for her choice- she feels as if this is empowering. I mean, what better way to pay for a Masters degree in Women’s Studies!

After submitting to a lie detector test and a gyno exam to prove that she really is a virgin, Dylan will put herself up for auction on the Bunny Ranch website.

So here’s my question to you:  Do you think it’s morally acceptable to do this? Is it a reasonable way to raise money for a Masters Degree? I personally can’t get on board with it, but hey, that’s my opinion.

Let the games begin.

–EDIT–

I just wanted to add this in for clarification. This post isn’t written to judge or condemn this girl. It was simply written because I think it’s fascinating that a subject that used to be considered so taboo to talk about, something so personal is turned around into this day and age as something that can be capitalized upon publicly. As something that can be sold on the internet of all places! I’m question is, how do you feel about that? Being able to sell something so personal online. You can leave the girl out of it if you like b/c, once again, this isn’t written to condemn her.

    • Joy
    • September 17th, 2008

    I read about this yesterday and wasn’t sure what a I thought about it but after more consideration, I feel it’s really not up to me. You know?? I’d hate to judge someone who I don’t even know. I wouldn’t do it and would lock my daughter (if I had one) in a closet so she couldn’t, we don’t know this girl/woman.

  1. Joy- Thanks for commenting on my blog! I hope you continue to read here.

    In response, I’m going to say that this particular post wasn’t written in judgement. It has nothing to do with condemning her or trying to judge her. I was simply asking what readers thought about the act of selling their virginity.

  2. First of all…. Im your Auntie so right now I have the whole proud of you thing going on. Is that ok?? *big smile* OK OK I know you are all grown up now. But dang.

    You have been reading my blog for a while so you know that I am extremely liberal about sex. Actually your mother and I are pretty on the same wavelength when it comes to most sexual issues so I am sure you have a good idea as to where I stand and how I think.

    I absolutely think this is fine for her to capitalize on what she has. Women have been doing it since the dawn of time and since there is a market for it. Well, that says something doesn’t it? I wouldn’t even care if she sold it to some old guy. It is her body to sell. If she wants to do it to better herself than all the better. Listen, people sell themselves for a whole lot less in this world.

    Many strippers use that as a means to put themselves through University.

    I actually don’t have much problem with prostitution with places like the Bunny Ranch where the women are well paid and there of their own volition and their own interest. They serve a purpose and fill many needs in society.

    Great post honey! *Did I mention I was proud of you?*

    • Kevin
    • September 19th, 2008

    If a person is comfortable with selling a very important part of themselves for profit , then why not. I personally would maybe auction off a kidney , but we’re all different.

  3. It is incredible what we can and do do these days! To some people the act of giving their virginity to someone is a most amazing experience… and others just want to get it over with… You may have given me something more to write on here… thank-you for the inspiration!

  4. Kevin and bojinx: Welcome to the blog, I love the input!

    • Kurt
    • October 23rd, 2008

    Selling virginity for a million bucks or so doesn’t seem too bad, maybe she could run a baby raffle at the same time in case she gets pregnant.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

